A few questions about electrolysis...!

Please post all your topics related to cleaning your metal detector finds here.
Roughwood

A few questions about electrolysis...!

Post by Roughwood » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:18 am

Good morning all.

I have decided to make my own electrolysis kit, principally to have a go at cleaning some biggish iron objects, such as a possible medieval horse shoe, and have some questions. I have consulted previous posts in this forum, but I would like to double check before I get going. ::g Don't want to kill myself or anything.

1 Is it OK to use a car battery charger instead of some other type (such as a mobile phone charger?) The reason I ask is that I have a redundant one in my garage.

I'm not an electrician, so here is the info on the label of the charger:

Input: 240V - 50Hz / Output: 12V DC
Input: 180 VA max / Output: 5.5 Adc (8A rms)

2 Do you use stainless steel for the anode?
I'm sure that I have read that you should not as it can make the electrolyte/water solution dangerous to handle/dispose of. However. lots of people appear to recommend it...

3 What is the ratio of Bicarbonate of soda/salt to water when you make up the solution?

Whilst the internet is a fantastic resource, I have found so much conflicting advice and decided that I should ask here as hopefully some of our members will possess this knowledge.

Thanks for taking a look and I look forward to your replies. :)

All the best,
Mike

Tesoro Silver Sabre Plus
Makro Racer 2
Nokta Pinpointer

Fusion

Re: A few questions about electrolysis...!

Post by Fusion » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:28 pm

This thread is worth a read:
viewtopic.php?f=121&t=32773

And the online iron electrolysis guides:
Sergei:
http://www.metaldetectingworld.com/elec ... oval.shtml
AndysPatch:
https://web.archive.org/web/20180214172 ... h/rust.htm
(thank you Wayback Machine)