Xchange2

Only for the discussion of the Minelab CTX 3030 metal detector within this forum.
Post Reply
Bridex
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:37 pm
Been thanked: 25 times

Xchange2

Post by Bridex » Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:58 pm

30-Sept.-2018 Is anyone experiencing problems with Xchange2? when signing in.
On both my computers I'm getting the map display overwritten with the words,
"for development only", and the map colours are darkened.
I have uninstalled and re-installed and still getting the problem.
The map continues to display 'finds' etc. :(


si in dubium effodere

David Hesketh
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 7:34 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by David Hesketh » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:43 pm

Hi Bridex
I am getting same as you. I do not know what is causing this.
Regards
David

User avatar
Dave8472
Moderator
Posts: 10862
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:52 pm
Location: Kent
Has thanked: 180 times
Been thanked: 142 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by Dave8472 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:42 am

Yes, and I have seen the problem on another web site to, it is something to do with the google map licensing.

I made a choice a while back to abandon Xchange mapping by importing everything directly in to Google Earth. This allows greater flexibility with the data

There is another thread in the Minelab section with a third party utility that allows exporting of the data to KML format.

viewtopic.php?f=248&t=84224

Dave ):=
Minelab CTX3030 : 17", 11", 6" Coils
XP Deus : 11", 9" Coils
Garrett Pro Pointer AT
Garmin eTrex 10 GPS

User avatar
CTX_Phil
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by CTX_Phil » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am

If you go on Xchange 2 now there's an update for it which you download by clicking an orange exclamation mark on the main screen. I went to update mine but it said I needed to uninstall the old version so I stopped installation as I was worried my gps data would be lost! If anyone installs the update and can confirm if your data remains OK it would be appreciated ::g

Bridex
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:37 pm
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by Bridex » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:36 pm

I have updated my Xchange2 without any problem or loss of data.
I made a copy of the mldata file just in case, but as I said
there were no problems
si in dubium effodere

User avatar
CTX_Phil
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by CTX_Phil » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:52 pm

Bridex wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:36 pm
I have updated my Xchange2 without any problem or loss of data.
I made a copy of the mldata file just in case, but as I said
there were no problems
Is the file you mention where all my saved GPS data is? If it is where can I find it please as always wanted to back up my data incase PC dies?!

Bridex
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:37 pm
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by Bridex » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:33 pm

CTX_Phil wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:52 pm
Bridex wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:36 pm
I have updated my Xchange2 without any problem or loss of data.
I made a copy of the mldata file just in case, but as I said
there were no problems
Is the file you mention where all my saved GPS data is? If it is where can I find it please as always wanted to back up my data incase PC dies?!
Yes the mldata file holds all the saved GPS data in Xchange2

OK this is the way I back it up, there maybe other methods but this works for me.

Right click on the Xchange2 icon on the desktop, from the list that appears select Properties, from the options that appear select 'Shortcut' when that opens then select the 'Open File Location' button, in the list that appears now you will see the 'mldata' file. This file contains all your finds, their location and everything else about the finds. copy and paste to a separate location for security. Do Not Move the file to anywhere else as your Xchange2 will stop working.
I use a file synchronising program to backup the file to a separate hard disk after adding 'finds' etc to Xchange as extra security. You could use a USB memory stick as a backup.
si in dubium effodere

User avatar
CTX_Phil
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by CTX_Phil » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:43 pm

Thanks for your help, will have to do that next time I go on the PC 👍

User avatar
FUBAR
Posts: 5561
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by FUBAR » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:41 am

Getting exactly the same. I have asked how to rectify this on the Minelab Forum (Yesterday) and I am still awaiting a reply.

Bridex
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:37 pm
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by Bridex » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:25 am

si in dubium effodere

User avatar
CTX_Phil
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by CTX_Phil » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:27 am

FUBAR wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:41 am
Getting exactly the same. I have asked how to rectify this on the Minelab Forum (Yesterday) and I am still awaiting a reply.
My map seems to be working fine after I updated it ::g

User avatar
FUBAR
Posts: 5561
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: Xchange2

Post by FUBAR » Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:57 pm

CTX_Phil wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am
If you go on Xchange 2 now there's an update for it which you download by clicking an orange exclamation mark on the main screen. I went to update mine but it said I needed to uninstall the old version so I stopped installation as I was worried my gps data would be lost! If anyone installs the update and can confirm if your data remains OK it would be appreciated ::g
Just tried this all is now ok. ::g ::g ::g

Post Reply

Return to “Minelab CTX 3030 Forum”