Sovereign to Explorer, is it worth it?

Topics related to Minelab metal detectors here, off topic posts will be removed.
MDF Auction - Minelab Videos
Skute

Sovereign to Explorer, is it worth it?

Post by Skute » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:16 pm

I've been using my Minelab Sovereign XS for the last 20 years without any problems. It consistently preforms well on any ground i try it on and i've been satisfied with it's depth and handling. In iron infested areas i just slow the swing speed right down and use the coil wobble technique to get good signals amongst the iron.
My machine has given me some great finds throughout it's life and basically i can't fault it.
However.....My minelab is 20 years old and technology hasn't stopped since i brought it.
Throughout most MD forums people have been praising the Deus and Etrac and even the Explorer for quite some time now and many YouTube vids testify to their effectiveness.
The Deus is undeniably a good machine as is the Etrac yet they are still priced quite high.
I see quite a few secondhand Explorers for sale and these are usually half price or lower compared to Deus's and Etrac's and there's shed loads of forum posts praising the Explorer to.
My question.
Has anyone gone from a Sovereign XS (probably doesn't make much difference which sovereign model) to an Explorer and found the Explorer better than the Sovereign in terms of depth, stability, speed and usability.
I understand an Explorer has more options and hence probably a steeper learning curve but once mastered is it better than a Sovereign machine?

shotwell

Re: Sovereign to Explorer, is it worth it?

Post by shotwell » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:54 pm

I made the move from the sovereign to the explorer II and found it just as deep
What i did find was that my finds rate increased ::g ::g

phen58

Post by phen58 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:47 pm

Hi