Just Nails

All discussion specific to the Cscope CS6MXI Metal Detector.
gullsrock

Just Nails

Post by gullsrock » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:27 pm

I'm very new to detecting and had my first all day session in a nice stubble field on my first permission. I have a CScope 6MX with ground set to auto, iron 1, sensitivity on 6, disc and disc volume also both 6. I think this 666 setting must be the default to allow farmers to find their lost horse shoe nails! Even with iron volume on 1 I am still picking them up and also some very small nails. Admittedly being a newbie I am digging everything but alas the best I found today was a spark plug and my second horse shoe. Oh and a short boomerang piece of iron about 4" long that I assume is from a plough but I can't see where it would fix and a heavy belt buckle which is probably fairly modern.

One worrying thing though is that I took with me a silver 3d and tried this laid flat a few times in holes that I had dug to find nails about 6" deep. Surprisingly this did not register at all even with sensitivity on highest setting and even though it had only just picked out quite a small nail at this depth? The detector obviously had no problem with the 3d laid on the soil surface.

I had a great day even though there were no good finds to speak of but any ideas what I might be doing wrong?

Blackadder43
Admin

Re: Just Nails

Post by Blackadder43 » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:30 pm

Thought i would move it to a Cscope forum as you might get a better response on machine settings.... ::g
When you are right no one remembers; when you are wrong no one forgets

gullsrock

Post by gullsrock » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:37 pm

thanks

THE MOLE

Post by THE MOLE » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:42 pm

use the quick settings guide at the back of the book till you get used to the sounds, use the one with the 3 tone settings then you can distinguish sounds better. if you dont have the manual you can get it online from cscope ;)

neil.
Just using the Force Image

miss a lot