Hoping to buy ACE 400i

Garrett Ace 400i Metal detector Topics Only.
tricky micky

Hoping to buy ACE 400i

Post by tricky micky » Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:43 pm

Good afternoon
i started up my Ace 250 yesterday and it was bouncing and pinging all over the place i sort advise and told it was a box issue and out of warranty so in the bin it went.

i am hoping to buy a ACE 400i tomorrow can anyone offer best advise please to use the new machine any tips hints please what difference will it be against the 250 machine.

I bought a Neil tornado coil for my 250 can this be put onto the 400i or is the coil on it just as good

Sorry about the question put I am still new to detecting

thank you

i will have it in the garden before i hit a dig with it , i have a dig 250 miles from home so looking not to make a numpty of myself

Saffron

Re: Hoping to buy ACE 400i

Post by Saffron » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:13 pm

I am fairly sure that the Nel Tornado coil from the Ace 250 is fine on the 400i.
Edit: Just checked the Nel page and confirmed the coil for 250 and 400 are the same so your old coil will work fine on the new machine.

Double check what you were told about the problem with the 250 being in the control box, and hence putting it in the bin!. If you had the problem with the Nel Tornado coil try the machine with the original standard coil, or vice versa. If you get the same problem then yes it is the control box, but IMHO you are more likely to get a problem with either a coil or the connecting cable than the main box.

Also ensure the problem was not just in one location as there might have been EMI causing it.

Evan

Edit: should have also said try new batteries.
Last edited by Saffron on Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saffron

Post by Saffron » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:22 pm

Regarding using the 400i here is the official Garrett website for it, watch the videos for an excellent starting point https://www.garrett.com/hobbysite/hbby_ ... in_en.aspx