Equinox and EMI?

Only for the discussion of the Minelab Equinox series of metal detector within this forum.
john Colin

Equinox and EMI?

Post by john Colin » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:28 pm

I have been detecting a field on and off (Pasture) for the last five years, unfortunately, the adjacent fields are used by hundreds of free-range chickens. Unfortunate because they are protected by an electric fence used to deter predators. I suffer from EMI (Electric Magnetic Interference) to the point my Deus is useless and only allows me to detect a small amount of the ground available. I have tried all coils, frequencies and frequency shifts with the Deus but the problem persists.

My question is, does anyone have experience using the Equinox in an area polluted by EMI and how does it cope? The field in question has thrown up some excellent deep finds in the past so I have every expectation the undetectable area (three acres) will also have many finds. I have had my finger hovering over the “make payment button” to purchase the Equinox for a week when it occurred to me to ask those who may know. As much as I would like to invite a friend to try his, my agreement with the landowner is for me only. I would be uneasy borrowing expensive equipment and would not be happy doing so.
Thanks for any help.
JC

johntp

Re: Equinox and EMI?

Post by johntp » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:37 pm

Hi John all I can say is, using my equinox 800 on one of my pasture permissions with an electric fence there was EMI and I was forced to move about 5 to 10 meters away from the fence before the nox settled down. hope this helps.

Bargeman

Post by Bargeman » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:45 pm

Try noise cancelling with the coil pointed at the fence ::g

BM [:)

Walk that line, torn apart
spend your whole life trying.
Ride that train, free your heart,
it's midnight up in Harlem.

Midnight in Harlem, Tedeschi Trucks Band

fred

Post by fred » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:50 pm

Bargeman wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:45 pm