cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Only for the discussion of the Minelab Equinox series of metal detector within this forum.
Post Reply
ozzy1977
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:41 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by ozzy1977 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:21 pm

Hi I have not had seen one in the flesh yet but was wondering if the cable could be routed internally up the shaft to exit near the control box, can the standard shaft be modded to do this or would it be a more realistic option on a carbon upgraded shaft?

Cheers

Chris



User avatar
sweepstick47
Moderator
Posts: 8857
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:21 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 1328 times
Been thanked: 2007 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by sweepstick47 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:56 pm

Hello Chris, You may receive answers to your questions if the model being considered for undergoing such a modification is made known. ::g ::g There are models which do feature the coil cable within the shaft and yes such a modification could be done as a DIY project but collapsing the stem may prove difficult if not impossible making the feature less than practical in operation.

Hope this helps ::g Good Luck - Regards ss47
A disservice is no service at all in my book ::g

Ten pence!
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 10:42 pm
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Ten pence! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:04 pm

Why bother though? Just got the vernier caliper out and the knurled ring on the cable connector measures 14.48mm and the bottom stem comes in at 19.85mm, putting a hole in that stem to take the knurled ring would doubtless weaken it to the point of breaking, the other alternative of course it to cut the cable, thread it through and re solder.

You'd need to be braver soul than me to do any of the above! :D

User avatar
Bargeman
Posts: 2002
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: Newbury
Has thanked: 757 times
Been thanked: 1139 times
Contact:

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Bargeman » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:08 pm

and where are you going to hide all the excess cable?

If it were a viable option do you not think Minelab would have done it? just because you can, doesn't mean you should ::g

Wow, where did that year go?
BM [:)

Walk that line, torn apart
spend your whole life trying.
Ride that train, free your heart,
it's midnight up in Harlem.

Midnight in Harlem, Tedeschi Trucks Band

bob79
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:01 pm
Location: Oxon/Wilts border.
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 225 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by bob79 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:12 pm

Being posted in the Equinox forum, my guess it's a Nox

Bob ::g .

Hairyhands
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:40 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Hairyhands » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:15 pm

I've often thought why they didn't hide the cable on the Nox

User avatar
Saffron
Posts: 2067
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:09 pm
Has thanked: 476 times
Been thanked: 722 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Saffron » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:45 pm

Hairyhands wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:15 pm
I've often thought why they didn't hide the cable on the Nox
My understanding is that as the Nox is waterproof if you wanted it could be used with scuba or snorkle - if doing so you would collapse the shaft ... which would not be possible if the cable was inside the shaft hence its on the outside.

Evan

Hairyhands
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:40 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Hairyhands » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:52 pm

Saffron wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:45 pm
Hairyhands wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:15 pm
I've often thought why they didn't hide the cable on the Nox
My understanding is that as the Nox is waterproof if you wanted it could be used with scuba or snorkle - if doing so you would collapse the shaft ... which would not be possible if the cable was inside the shaft hence its on the outside.

Evan

Everyday is a school day. That makes perfect sense

jarrett
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:52 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by jarrett » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:06 pm

Excess cable when collapsed? Vallon seem to manage with a curly type lead in the shaft.

stargazer
Posts: 2836
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:21 am
Location: Rochdale
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by stargazer » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:12 pm

jarrett wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:06 pm
Excess cable when collapsed? Vallon seem to manage with a curly type lead in the shaft.
As does the Etrac.
The mighty Minelab Etrac !

I'm UBIQUE! RE

User avatar
Saffron
Posts: 2067
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:09 pm
Has thanked: 476 times
Been thanked: 722 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Saffron » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:35 pm

stargazer wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:12 pm
jarrett wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:06 pm
Excess cable when collapsed? Vallon seem to manage with a curly type lead in the shaft.
As does the Etrac.
Fair enough. I was taking my comment from something I saw when the Nox first came out and seemed to make sense to me.

Evan

User avatar
Easylife
Posts: 3827
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:23 pm
Has thanked: 822 times
Been thanked: 1944 times

Re: cable in the shaft, is it possible?

Post by Easylife » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:46 pm

ozzy1977 wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:21 pm
Hi I have not had seen one in the flesh yet but was wondering if the cable could be routed internally up the shaft to exit near the control box, can the standard shaft be modded to do this or would it be a more realistic option on a carbon upgraded shaft?
You can route the cable anyway you like but there's no advantage either way. ::g
Nox 800, 15" coil & Garrett carrot.
Deus V4.1, 11" coil, 9" HF coil & MI-6.
White's TDI SL

Post Reply

Return to “Minelab Equinox Forum”