Is there a golden spot

Topics related to Teknetics metal detectors here, Off topic posts will be removed.
Jphin

Is there a golden spot

Post by Jphin » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:51 pm

I've been out today for nearly 6 hours with my eurotek pro with 8" coil. I get signals but it seems I am way off in terms of the location of the signal and I end up having to expand my excavation all the time. I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there is a focus point for the signal for instance the centre of the coil or is it just trial and error and I'll soon get used to where the signal actually is. I've found the pinpoint function to be quite unreliable too.... while im at it I've noticed a small hole in the bottom of my coil like it's been punctured with a drawing pin, is this something to be worried about? As you can probably tell I'm new to this and this is my first device so I'm not sure if that's normal or if it's fine and won't affect my searching.
Many thanks

Easylife

Re: Is there a golden spot

Post by Easylife » Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:02 am

I am not familiar with your machine, but to quote another ETP user "I noticed that, using the 8" coil, the pinpoint function is something like 4 to 5" off target. Yes, when I get the lowest depth indication AND the stronger audio, the target is often under the coil's edge or one inch ahead. This is strange, because it works well with either the 5"DD or 11" DD coils."
It seems you are not alone...
Deus V4.1, 11" coil, 9" HF coil & MI-6. %)=
White's TDI SL
White's DFX
White's Classic III SL

Fusion

Post by Fusion » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:32 am

The 'focus point' of your coil is the centre of it.