Looking for a local club and advise on getting a metal detector

This is not compulsory but if you would like to tell us a little about yourself then post here.
Nael83

Looking for a local club and advise on getting a metal detector

Post by Nael83 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi everyone my names Nae l from peacehaven East Sussex
I am new to this but have wanted to do it for some time .
Can anyone tell me a club that's not to far away from and advise on what metal detector to buy I would like to find old coins , rings and things like that and gold that sort of thing plus finding old things is fun 😀
Also if anyone in area is selling a detector that's going to look for the bits i want feel free to let me know
Thanks for letting me join
And Thanks in advance for reading my post

Mud Max

Re: Looking for a local club and advise on getting a metal detector

Post by Mud Max » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:05 pm

Advising on detectors starts with knowing your budget?
Xp Deus 11" coil
GM5+SE

Jedi Master button finder

f8met

Post by f8met » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:41 pm

Good luck on finding gold. 2 pieces in 5 years for me and some have been 20+.

Hope you are willing to spend many long hours in all weathers, digging up scrap metal, lead, shotgun cartridge ends and ring pulls to maybe find a coin which is essentially a blank disc. If you are lucky you might find a silver coin worth far less than the petrol it has cost to get you there.

It is maybe more important to try to find a permission before getting a detector as that is the hardest thing you will ever do in the hobby. The rest is down hill from there.

Good luck in your endeavours and welcome to the forum and the hobby of metal detecting. Long may it last.
Dave
Deus, 9" black coil + Elliptical hf
2018 25 Hammered

Beer should be liquid bread, not coloured water

pengles

Post by pengles » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:23 am