Doing my head in !

Topics related to Garrett metal detectors here, off topic posts will be removed. Garrett Videos
Ryanlewis55

Doing my head in !

Post by Ryanlewis55 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:41 pm

Been metal detecting for 6 times now on the same piece off ground but every time I take a sweep the metaldector gets a beep but then I sweep again and it comes under iron. The ground is known as red soil (iron rich) but I've known many detectors on the land. Have I got a dodgey detector ? Is there anything I can do to solve this many thanks ryan. Also found nothing 🙄

tigerseeker

Re: Doing my head in !

Post by tigerseeker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:45 pm

I'm new to this myself but have you tried putting some coins in your garden and seeing if your detector works OK?

I don't know what detector you have, mine is a Garrett Euroace and it has worked really well for me.
Garrett Euroace
Garrett Propointer II
Garrett Z-Lynk wireless headphones

meadowman

Post by meadowman » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:51 pm

Have you checked your ground balance ? Not suggesting that you haven,t but every swing
Does suggest a problem. Good luck and I suspect the more experienced will give you the
Solution ::g

dreadnought

Post by dreadnought » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:52 pm

hi mate, my 400i does this as does my new Q40, theres no explination in any user manual for this but i think its just the detector letting you know theres something there on a quickish sweep then when you concentrate on it, the machine sorts out what the signal is. i find when it still gives a good signal second sweep then its a good signal. if you dont want to dig it then just move on.
sometimes its worth just putting the spade in the ground and giving it a little wiggle, it will often give a different signal after that..
if in doubt push a decent coin into the ground and scan it, the signal will be constant and unchanging
no machine is infalable, no matter how much it costs. just persevere and you will learn it.
garret ATpro ::g