Coke habit.

Please only post topics here related to metal detecting tips and tricks & D.I.Y
Desperado

Coke habit.

Post by Desperado » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:24 pm

Hello all...

I am new to decting and currently use a C-Scope 3mx, while this is a pretty good bleeper I am having trouble with coke. I can have my discrimination at 4 and still get a sharp audio response from this stuff. I have found Roman bronzes and a few hammered silver coins. But I think I could make ploughing obselte by the sheer amount of coke I am digging not to mention the large iron I'm unearthing. I have pretty much got the stuttery/spitting iron tone sorted but the coke is much harder to elimanate. I am considering upgrading machines. What I would like to know is..... is there a machine that will discrimanate coke or show it on a display as a numerical reading whilst at the same time not missing the coins???
All help would be gratefully recieved.

Nearly forgot... my budget would be around £700.(damn this obsessive hobby)!!uyko
Last edited by Desperado on Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tomcat-uk
Pastfinders Club Founder

Re: Coke habit.

Post by Tomcat-uk » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:43 pm

Hi,
I do have bad news for you!
Coke and Gold have the same sound and usually if you discriminate Coke out you will miss the gold finds. So like all of us out there, dig them. Oh and keep the pieces chuck them far away from your field. Soon most will be gone leaving you free to get to the real finds.
I collected a heap of the stuff on my one field , and nowadays I am glad I did!
TC
When in Doubt Dig.
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
I will either find a way or make one.
Teknetics T2

philip formby

Post by philip formby » Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:00 pm

I have the same problem mate,
but i have gleaned this from trigger over at detecting wales forums,heres his quote about CS3MX