Advice on using Hearing Aids with Metal Detectors

Please feel free to post topics about metal detector headphones here.
MDF Auction - Metal Detecting Headphones
stephenbeetleman

Advice on using Hearing Aids with Metal Detectors

Post by stephenbeetleman » Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:04 pm

Hi Guys,

I work as an NHS Audiologist and have been interested in detecting for many years now. In my line of work I help hearing impaired people on a day to day basis find ways of coping well with a hearing loss when carrying out day to day activities when wearing hearing aids. My job involves diagnosing Hearing loss and the fitting and repair of hearing aids from Paediatrics right up to the Elderly.

One of the things I have noticed along the way is the lack of information made available on linking hearing aids to everyday technology. Recently I was contacted by a member on here that was looking to find out options available to him when using his hearing aids with a metal detector. As he found the information I gave him helpful I decided to share it with you in the hope that it might help others.

Firstly if I start by giving you a bit of background info. A progressive hearing loss which we all experience to some degree as we get older (Presbyacusis) is a result of a deficit that occurs in two areas. There is hair cell damage in the Cochlea (The Hearing Organ itself) and also damage that occurs in the Neural pathway that leads from the Cochlea to the Brain.
With this type of loss there are two issues, the clarity of sound and the audibility. A hearing aid will help in that it will alter the characteristic of the sound heard and increase its audibility. It cannot however fine tune or offer more resolution to sharpen the sound as this can only be done well in a normal functioning cochlea.

How does this relate to hearing target sounds from your detector?