ACE 150 Review

Please post your personal metal detecting review here for the Garrett brand of metal detectors.
echo

ACE 150 Review

Post by echo » Tue May 31, 2011 11:56 am

I purchased an ACE 150 several months ago and thought I'd add something here.
I am new to the hobby, so please bear in mind my knowledge is limited and not as technical as more experienced MDers.

The machine is standard and uses the stock 6.5x9 coil.

Aesthetics:
It's bright YELLOW!!! :-O But once you get past the colour, the actual design looks quite modern. The control box has a sleek shape and the "s" of the handle and shaft compliment the looks.

Build Quality:
It does feel plasticky but I expected this from a budget machine. The shafts are in 3 pieces and simply push together using spring clips. The shafts are light but very strong. I've fallen and dropped the machine whilst on steep hills and there was no damage.
The coil is the standard and came with a coil cover. Seems robust as has been hit against rocks, tree stumps and shows no damage, just the odd scratch on the cover.

Function:
display-Ace-150-lg.jpg
(picture taken from Internet)
It is a simple machine; turn on and go. It has three modes: All-Metal, Jewellery, and Coins. In All-metal it finds a lot...Jewellery filters out iron and Coin filters out more metals. There are three audio tones, Low, Medium, Bell tone. The visual display is also so simple to see and read.
Sensitivity has just four settings. A very simple machine to use.

Use:
Beach- I have used this machine lots on the beach. Dry sand works very well. I tend to use it is Jewellery mode to eliminate the iron. I use the sensitivity on full and the deepest find was a stainless steel rice bowl lid buried over 18 inches down. I was very impressed with the depth. I did get false reading on a section of beach with black sand. I turned the sensitivity down to 3 bars and this helped.