New to E-Trac and Oh the contradictions!

Only for the discussion of the Minelab E-TRAC metal detecting within this forum.
beaubrummell

New to E-Trac and Oh the contradictions!

Post by beaubrummell » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:00 pm

Hi all

I recently posted that as it was my Birthday I wanted to treat myself to a new machine. I ummed and ah'd between a new Nox 800 or a second hand CTX, but then thought maybe an E-Trac would be a lesser learning curve. I have discovered after 3 hunts that the E-Trac is a very different animal to my old Explorer 2.

I got very good with the EX 2 at winkling out deep targets with sensitivity maxed out on my quiet permissions. Trying to run the E-Trac the same way has led to me digging a lot of rusty nails.

I realise that I am new to this machine and results will come but there is so much contradictory information re this machine. I know about the FE wrap around and am happy that I know what I am doing re using discrimination. I ran the EX 2 in all metal and will use as little as possible with the E-Trac.

However, here come the contradictions, Andy Sabisch says Deep On with a lower Gain setting is better than Deep Off with high Gain as Deep On only enhances the deep signals whereas high Gain enhances everything deep or shallow. Others swear that having Deep Off and Gain set between 15-20 only makes the deep signals sound as they should i.e. deep and distinct from the shallower stuff. Others swear by Gain maxed out.

I've been trying to run the E-Trac to perform like my EX 2 and maybe this is where I'm going wrong. I'm aiming for reproducing the Ex 2's depth with better performance in iron infested areas on my permissions.